For more on Unfit and events,
follow me on these platforms:

About Unfit

The World

Nearly a century has passed since the world was devastated by pandemics and wars that wiped out over ninety-percent of the earth's population. To assure the survival of mankind, the leaders of the rebuilt city of Haven are breeding a better human race: meaning those deemed too stupid, too weak, too poor - too "unfit" - are arrested and forcibly sterilized.

Meet John

John Hunter is a penniless, self-educated young man from the wrong side of Haven struggling to make something of himself to provide for his wife and their hopes of starting a family. Until the authorities show up and arrest him for the crime of being "unfit." Heartbroken and humiliated, will John abandon his aspirations and resign himself to quietly accept his fate?

What people are saying

Testimonial author

Bree Moore

Author, Woven

Unfit is a powerfully dark post-apocalyptic story where the future of all citizens is determined by the quality of their genes. I thought the somewhat Romeo and Juliet type romance would be stereotypical, but I'm happy to report it's anything but! Unfit is also refreshingly diverse, realistically depicting an autistic side-character who became very dear to my heart. I am really looking forward to the second book!

Testimonial author

D.J. Butler

Author, The Witchey Eye

Karma Chesnut takes a cold-eyed look at tomorrow's nightmares - when some people can be Unfit. This is dark science fiction for fans of The Hunger Games and Gattaca.

Testimonial author

Molly Fennig

Author, Insomnus

Having grown up devouring and loving dystopian novels, I am often critical of their cliches, abstract and unoriginal social critiques, unrealistic or incomplete world building, and more. That being said, this book is everything a dystopian, or any kind of book, should be...Read this book if you love dystopian or just a captivating story. If you’re looking to improve your craft, this would be a great one to read and analyze.

Testimonial author

Stephenie Peterson

Goodreads Review

Unfit is a unique story full of characters I cared about. The plot kept me on my toes. The world-building pulled me in. I am so glad I had a chance to read this ARC before publication. It's definitely worth reading.

"As thrilling as The Hunger Games, as relevant as The Handmaid's Tale."

-D.J. Butler, author of Witchey Eye

"Unfit is Gattaca meets Shawshank Redemption. It's a dystopian Gone with the Wind, but this time with a heroic heroine." -Derick William Dalton, author of Houses of Common

"This book is everything a dystopian, or any kind of book, should be."

-Molly Fennig, author of Insomnus

Frequently Asked Questions

If you would like information on the release of Unfit or upcoming events, sign up for our newsletter! You can also find Karma Chesnut on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
Now! Although with COVID-19, shipping times from some sellers can be delayed quite a bit.
Unfit is being published with Immortal Works - appropriate for teens, intriguing to adults. Their website is here
You can purchase Unfit on Amazon, the Immortal Works website, and right here on Karma Chesnut's author website.

Subscribe to read Chapter 1 and get info on Unfit and upcoming events!

* Rest assured. We will not spam your inbox.
About the Author

Karma Chesnut

Karma Chesnut is a writer, anthropologist, mother, and author of the novel Unfit. Born and raised in Seattle, Washington, Karma now lives in California with her husband and their three daughters; the snake-hunter, the princess, and the baby. She has a bachelor's degree in Anthropology from Brigham Young University.